January Round-Up

In Jan 2017 I read 21 books. This compares pretty favourably with last January, when I read 10. Please note visual aid below (I just like charts).

jan-vs-jan

Look at Jan-17 looming smugly over Jan-16, puffing its little orange chest out

Some other numbers

  1. In January I read 4 male-authored books – the rest were female-authored, suggesting that my year has kicked off with the same kind of gender dynamics as last, reading-wise.
  2. I tried two graphic novels in January – Craig Thompson’s Habibi and Jillian and Mariko Tamaki’s This One Summer. Both powerful, for different reasons, and both so lovely in the art. I look forward to more graphic novels in 2017!
  3. 5 non-fiction books, which I’m pleased about.

Books of Note

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged, Ayisha Malik

The Caliph’s House: A Year in Casablanca, Tahir Shah

This One Summer, Jillian+Mariko Tamaki

Romance Ruined My Life, Nichole Perkins

The Writing Life, Annie Dillard (Unflinching)

The Good Immigrant, ed. Nikesh Shukla (Timely)

Magpie Murders, Anthony Horowitz (for fans of Agatha Christie, and pop fiction commentary)

Looking forward to Feb. Last year I managed 16 books – if patterns hold, however, I won’t be able to match that this year.

This entry was posted in monthly round-up, overview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

