March round-up

Hello April! I am definitely looking forward to you.

Overview

I struggled with reading this month, capping out at 12 books, which is about a book every 2.5 days. I’m not exactly sure why – there was plenty of stuff I was excited about reading, but also it did feel consciously like a chore this month. Last year in March I read 18 books, so I’m reluctant to say it’s a work cycle thing, although I have felt busier than usual at work this month.

Thanks to my January binge, though, I’m still ahead of where I was last year. By this time last year, I’d read 44 books – this year, I’m at 46. I’m not so concerned with numbers as with enjoyment, however.

Other Numbers

3 books by male authors

1 comic anthology

1 work of translation

3 books feat. Muslim sightings (this may be a new tag of mine heh “muslim sightings” as opposed to “muslim fiction”. my dorkiness is keen to see how i get on with this.)

Books of Note

I’ve already recapped most of the books of note I read this month here  and here – but here are a few others I haven’t mentioned:

Fresh Romance Vol I – a comic? Graphic novel? Set of short stories? I’m not sure how to categorize this, although Amazon tells me its an anthology of romance comics. It was interesting. I’m not sure if I’m just confused because I’m not used to this format, but I feel like these were snippets of stories and I should probably read the rest of the comics.

Herman Koch The Dinner a translation from the Dutch, this was written by an actor, and kept getting weirder and creepier as the pages crept by. Over the course of a dinner at a pretentious restaurant, two brothers and their wives talk/don’t talk about their criminal sons.

Hollie Overton Baby Doll This read like a retelling of Emma Donoghue’s Room, but with multiple perspectives in place of just the child’s one. Plus twins, which automatically ups creepy factor by roughly x3.

Other Things

  1. Please come back reading mojo – I’m halfway through a dystopian romance at the moment, and am really enjoying it, so hopefully April is already off to a good start!
  2. I am super excited for all the reading challenges happening around me – a lot of my friends have committed to a book a week, 50 books this year, 4 books by the end of May, etc and look well on their way to accomplishing their goals. Bonus: loads of book recommendations for meeeeeee.
  3. Love following publishers and pretty-photos-of-books people on IG. So pretty, but question: why do they all seem to have cosy white fluffy duvets (and equally cosy looking thick socks!) and tiny perfect flower buds lying around to style their flatlays with? I’m living my booklyfe wrong.
This entry was posted in monthly round-up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

