June Round Up and a Book Haul

Halfway through the year! I didn’t manage to hit my June goal – I fell one book short, and hit 17, which I’m still pretty happy about. I’ve covered most of the stand-out reads in June in this post.

I’m at 89 books so far this year,  so if I can match this in the second half of the year, I’ll hit 178 books. I’d be happy with 150, so I’ve got a bit of buffer space.

More interestingly, I did another book haul in Melbourne! Well actually just outside Melbourne, in a seaside bookstore on the Mornington Peninsula.

2017-07-04 23.09.48

1. Adrian Mole: The Collected Poems, by Sue Townsend

I looove the Adrian Mole books – still some of the funniest books I’ve ever read, although the later ones are more poignant. The Collected Poems of everyone’s favourite pretentious adolescent are so funny, although the best part is the editor’s correspondence with Adrian.

2. The Lost Pages, by Marija Pericic

A re-telling of Kafka’s life, centering around some other guy. Seemed thriller-esque, which is the best kind of book to pick up on holiday. My friend started reading it and said it was a bit serious.She switched to Lang Leav’s Sad Girls, and said that that was amazing.

3. Fighting Hislam, by Susan Cartland

Islam and the patriarchy – an Australian Muslim’s thoughts.

4. The Wanderers, by Meg Howrey

A fifty year old female astronaut goes back to walk among the stars for the last time. I read a chapter of this while waiting in line for the Van Gogh Seasons exhibition at the National Gallery, and it is definitely good so far.

5. Party Girls Die in Pearls, by Plum Sykes

An Oxford Girls Mystery! 1980s, small acerbic pop culture footnotes, Oxford student murder mystery. I’m a third into this – it was my plane read until I got distracted by the movie Gifted (loved it) and a donut making cooking competition. It’s very flippant and quick, and sharp, but it’s just okay so far – not sure where it sits between satire and farce.

6. Nine Folds Make a Paper Swan, by Ruth Gilligan

That title caught me, the blurb telling me it’s about the Jewish community in Ireland had me taking it to the counter.

7. Do Not Say We Have Nothing, by Madeleine Thien

I remember this from last year’s Man Booker Prize, but I really have to space out these harrowing tales set in Asia. They’re so painful to read, but I’m trying to find the links three articles – one about how it’s our duty to at least bear witness to what others have to live through; and one by an African American critic on the saturation of the market with African American literature on suffering. And how she was tired tired tired of only reading pain, while still acknowledging its partial necessity. And a final one – last week Ayisha Malik (Sofia Khan is Not Obliged) said a similar thing about why she writes Muslims the way she does – not wanting to just be chained to tales of oppression.

Couldn’t find these links (too lazy right now) but will link them up later if I can!

8. A House Without Windows, by Nadia Hashimi

The bookstore actually had two of her books – both about Afghan women. The premise of this is a women’s jail in Afghanistan – and how an Afghan-born, American-raised lawyer tries to help a prisoner accused of murdering her husband. Looks fabbo.

Away we go into July! Last few weeks before semester starts and they look stressful – lets see what effect this has on my reading.

 

This entry was posted in book haul, monthly round-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

